Conversation with Jordi

December 7, 2010

When my children were small and the bills were big, I never resented paying them, even if it had to be by installment. I was grateful for the modern conveniences – still am. I’m grateful to have the money to pay for them.

The telephone was my lifeline to the world – 2 voices across the distance.

Hot water on tap the greatest luxury every morning.

Warmth in the house and food in my belly have saved me from despair.

pmg

We’re spoiled for choice with ways to communicate really. So when the contact with someone diminishes it can be a surprise and sometimes it hurts. But we’re spoiled for choice in so many ways it’s a natural consequence that some connections will fall away. The beauty of it is, it’s easy to pick up the frayed end and repair any damage and cross that distance again.

Our dog Jordi is a social boy. He loves to have a chat in the morning. I’ve noticed that his vocabulary has increased heaps over time. Just like a child, he imitates my sounds and responds appropriately to inflections and body language and groups of words.

Sometimes my days are so full that our conversations are short and more or less one-sided before I dash off into the world. And then I remember what I miss. It takes time to renew that ease between us again.

Copy of jordi 2

3 Responses to “Conversation with Jordi”

  1. frankprem said

    He sounds like a fine fellow of a dog, Mary-Rose. Sorry if I’m out of time – just random trawling around the site.

    Cheers,

    Frank

    • Ah yes our dear Jordi was indeed a fine fellow, now in dog heaven and irises growing on his grave under the old oak. Thanks for the comment

      • frankprem said

        Old dogs. We buried one a year ago up at Stanley not long before we moved.

        They’re a wonderful memory, hope I haven’t disturbed by that visit – it only occured to me afterwards that your sketches were not of a young hound.

        Cheers,

        Frank

Leave a comment